What broke my update?

Hi everyone. I’ve been working with Komodo edit for the past 6 years or so now. My setup is a Linux Mint (version 17.3) system and I use Komodo Edit primarily for family pages and some ebay related templates. To make things easier (quicker) I’ve developed about 25 or so custom templates, located under snippets and saved as a project KPF file. This worked wonderfully for years … until last week where everything was ruined.

Last week I noticed for the second time that after so many years it’s finally possible to update Komodo edit directly from within the Linux Mint repository with a single button click. The first time that I used this option a couple of months or so ago, everything went fine. Then last week, my entire Komodo Edit setup was ruined after upgrading.

It’s not an exaggeration. Everything was ruined. Komodo still works fine, but now I have this horrendously ugly dark theme by default. Black everywhere !!! Going into the settings in order to make changes … changes nothing !!! My custom profile settings are there, but clicking on them does absolutely nothing. If I try to change the colors manually, the themes will permit me to select a lighter theme, but no matter what I do after that … nothing changes. The default text is much smaller now as well for some odd reason. That’s not even the worst of it though …

First it took me over an hour to locate my most recently saved template files since those appear to have vanished. When I did find them in a TMP directory ??? and imported them for use, every one of them was totally different from what I used to use for my html pages. Now everyone of my templates has this on top:

{
“keyboard_shortcut”: “”,
“name”: “VERKAUF - 03 Fotos”,
“value”: [

followed by more at the very bottom, consisting of:

],
“set_selection”: “true”,
“version”: “1.0.12”,
“indent_relative”: “false”,
“type”: “snippet”,
“treat_as_ejs”: “false”,
“auto_abbreviation”: “false”
}