Long term user, very disappointed, going for another editor

So I’ve been using Komodo edit since… I think version 3? or 4? At least I’ve been using it for like 7 years or so. Somehow it always simultaneously was my favorite and worst editor ever. I’ve gotten to the point, however, where I think I’ll switch for another editor as it has been just too much for me. I’m currenly using Komodo 11.1 (afaik the latest version)

Pro’s:

• It was reasonably light weight

• It had what I needed and nothing more

• File navigator allows searching by typing

• Allows me to disable all crap I don’t want

Con’s:
Well here we go…

• Projects are unusable. I tried using projects on multiple occasions and it always ends in crashes, corrupted project files, etc. I literally could not switch between a project without crashes and found it to be 100% unusable, and so I never used it.

• Slow down issues… Since at least version 4 or so, if over a day of work you open and close files, it gets slower, and slower and slower… until at one point you write something and have to wait 10 seconds for the text to appear on screen. Solution is to CTRL-ESC click, hard kill the app, and restart. Its manageable, but annoying. Typically I can work around… 4 hours or so, and then I have to kill Komodo because it just is toooo slooooowww. If I open and close loads of files it typically gets much worse much faster.

• When it opens up, the navigator always is in the wrong directory. I have a projects/CUSTOMER/PROJECT directory division and it would always start in a project that I looked at months ago, not the one that was in use 5 minutes ago when I was working on it. This, on more than one occasion, lead to me looking around in the wrong project directory