ID attribute not being recognized

I’m new to html but in what I’ve learned so far I should be able to identify an element with an id (an id attribute) for example p id=myID> content /p>.

And I should be able to assign different styles to that id attribute, for example #italics {text-align: center; font-style: italic; color: gray;}.

Now the problem that I am having is, Komodo isn’t recognizing the name I’ve given my id attribute, it recognizes the # and everything that come between {} but it won’t apply it to the paragraph I want it to.

Is this a problem within Komodo (and is there a work around)? Or is it something I (as a new user) am doing wrong? This isn’t a serious project, I’m just playing with subjects I have learned so I want to understand how to correct it in the future.

Here is the code I’m working with, everything else seems to work fine when I upload it to a browser.

<title>What I Read Last Week: Christmas in July</title>
        <!---***The following two are optional***--->
        <meta name="description" content="All the books I read last week."
        <meta name="author" content="Katherine"

<style type="text/css">
        #myID {
             text-align: center; 
             font-style: italic; 
             color: gray;
         }
    </style>
</head>

<body>
      <h1>What I Read Last Week: Christmas in July</h1>         
      <p id="myID">This book is currently available for free with a Kindle Unlimited subscription or for purchase at your favorite online bookstore.</p>

<script type="application/x-javascript"></script>        
</body>

Hi @krohrbacker88,

For future reference, this is a better question for a site like Stackoverflow as it’s a general HTML question and not pertaining to Komodo itself but I see you’re not really sure WHAT the issue is and hence you’re wondering if it’s Komodo or your code.