Help replacing quotes, ellipses, em dasheswith HTML named entities

Hello,

I’m a writer, trying to convert my book (rtf) to ebook format. I know very little about HTML and am following directions from a website. I’m to the point of having pasted my text into Komodo. (I’m using the free version.) The guy writing the website uses TextMate on a Mac; I use a PC. He indicates I should be able to select what he calls “Convert Selection to Entities excluding Tags” to automatically convert ellipses, quotes, and em dashes to named HTML throughout the manuscript. Is there a way to do that in Komodo? I have been searching for an answer, but I know so little that I can’t do a proper search.

Any help would be deeply appreciated.

hey @jdean,

I don’t know about anyone else but I need a specific example of what you’re starting with and what you want to end up with. Maybe just one or two example would be helpful.

• Carey

I think he means converting — to —, « to «, to • for example

Can you link to the guide that you are following?

Thanks for the replies. Yes, I would be replacing characters such as a dash with &mdash–but the website warns me not to use numbers such as &#171, which can cause formatting problems. That’s why he calls them named entities.

Rather than post a link, I’ll copy the relevant portion below–it’s a multi-part series with fairly long chunks of text in each part–a lot to read through. But if you want to see the series, a search for “Guido Henkel” and “ebook” will take you to it.

Thanks

The next step for us to do is to replace all special characters with their proper HTML entities. There is a very safe way to handle this in HTML that will properly display on every HTML device, regardless of font or text encoding. The key to success lies in HTML’s named entities.