Files saved with Komodo Edit 8.5 will not open in - errors on every line

I have an old HTML webpage which is fine for my needs. I need to update some text and images which appear on the page. This page appears OK in Firefox. I open the file in Komodo Edit 8.5 and make the changes, save as a new filename in a new folder. The file is saved as XHTML with no other choices available. When I try to open the new file with Firefox, I get “XML Parsing Error: syntax error” starting on the first line and there is an error of one kind or another on every subsequent line. I tried opening the file in Komodo Edit and saving it with a new name without making any changes whatsoever and I get the same error messages when I try to open the new file. I’m not a web developer and I should not need to become one nor hire one to resolve this problem. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Chris

It sounds to me like you made changes that are not valid HTML. A web developer would know how to make those changes properly. You will need someone to have a look at your code and figure out where you went wrong.

Or you could use the Syntax checker in Komodo (bottom right in the statusbar) to figure out where the problem is.

This is not a Komodo issue however, Komodo is just the editor in question that you are using. Not to say we don’t wish to help you, just that this probably isn’t the best place to ask for help.

Per my original post, Komodo makes changes that render the page unreadable.
" tried opening the file in Komodo Edit and saving it with a new name
without making any changes whatsoever and I get the same error messages
when I try to open the new file."

Can you provide the file in question? I’d like to see if I can reproduce this.

Komodo does not make any destructive automated changes to your files. Did you check that the file worked before opening it in Komodo?

Per my original post, the file opens in Firefox before editing or saving in Komodo