Coloring In-line HTML

I’m just getting started with Komodo, found it in a search for an IDE which would support all the languages I use plus Git for version control, looks like it fits the bill.

I do a lot of perl development for CGI. And I generally use long prints for my HTML. Is there a way to get HTML (& maybe js) syntax highlighting within a long text block, the default single color highlighting isn’t very helpful.

Thx

Not sure what you mean exactly by “within a long text block” but Komodo uses your file extension to automatically detect the language. If you create a new file and have not saved it or if your file extension is not recognized by Komodo you can change the language manually by selecting it in the center of your statusbar (bottom of screen), it will likely just say “Text” for you right now.

Thanks for the reply, I’ll be more clear. For this example I’m editing a perl file, I want perl syntax highlighting for the main code, however I have a block of code like this within my script:

print <<EOHTML;
<table>
<tr><th>This is an HTML Table</th></tr>
<tr><td>This is some content within the table</td></tr>
</table>
EOHTML

So within that block (between the <<EOHTML; and the EOHTML) I would like the syntax highlighting to switch from Perl mode to HTML mode. Is this possible with Komodo?