Confused about mappings

Hi, I’m trying Komodo again, after several years away from it. The language is PHP 5.4.37, Komodo 10.2.0, IIS 7.5.

Regarding this error message,

The URI ‘file://////99.999.999.999/C:/inetpub/myapp/index.php’ could not be opened. You can use a URI mapping to specify an alternative file location. Without a mapping, Komodo will display a read-only copy of the file contents. Would you like to setup a mapping now?

I have a few questions, relating to this message. My background is primarily in programming, and most of that time, somebody else manages the server, and moves the code from local development to Test; or from Dev to Test, and they then move it from Test to Prod.

Right now, I’m trying to work directly in the Dev environment, using the Dev server, rather than localhost on my PC. Since this is the first time I’ve tried to configure any tool to work directly on the Dev server, it’s a little confusing.

I’m able to single step through the code – although the debugging session often reloads the same module, instead of reusing the one that’s already open. But the main problem, is that I can’t edit the files within Komodo.

So, when the server connects with Komodo, from

http://myserver.myapp.us.gov/index.php?XDEBUG_SESSION_START=1

, and asks me if I want to connect (I click Yes), it then displays the above message, always.

I’ve tried setting up mappings between the uri, but it keeps asking me again, and then I have to click ‘No’ to the Mapping prompt, in order to proceed. And so in my debugging sessions on the Dev server, it’s readonly, so I have to edit the documents in another IDE or text editor.

e.g.,

URI: http://myserver.myapp.us.gov

Maps to: \99.999.999.999\c$\inetpub\myapp

Side question – why does Komodo add all of those forward slashes – 6 of them – to the IP address, in the error message?